Really?? I hate searching for a job..

Here you can offer jobs for our forum members and visitors.

Postby Ainsley » Thu Apr 21, 2011 12:46 am

Ok, seriously.... I just need to rant. I am sure there are many people who have it worse than I do, but I need to get this off my chest and my friends are sick of hearing about it. I have 10 years of job experience in several fields, including marketing, sales, and human resources. I also have an undergrad degree in marketing and management, as well as my MBA. I am 29, in decent shape and a people person. I was laid off in March due to an acquisition. Since then, I have been networking with everyone I know in the industries I have worked for, as well as friends and family. I have applied to about *** jobs...I have had one interview since March 1st. I have had 3 phone interviews. Of these, I haven't gotten a job offer. Reasons range from me being over-qualified to not feeling they can pay me what they feel I am worth. I have spoken with a headhunter who says they can't help me because I don't have enough experience to be an executive, even though I was at my last job. They also won't help me place for mid-level jobs because they feel I won't be happy at that level and the pay won't be enough... So what do I do? Should I lie on my resume and take out the MBA and understate what I made at my last job so I can at least get to the interview/job offer stage? Or do I say what the crap because I worked my way through school and have an MBA and 10 years of experience and can't afford a minimum wage job (and I don't have a fancy lifestyle at all)... I make more on unemployment than what most of the jobs pay. Seriously, I thought I busted my ass so I would have a better chance of finding a job if needed...now almost 4 months into it and nothing, with nothing on the horizon. I would run away if I didn't have a child, sheesh!
Ainsley

Re: Really?? I hate searching for a job..

Postby Bogdan » Wed May 11, 2011 2:00 am